Microsoft Ignite: Plan your Ignite year with MyIgnite

Getting ready to plan your Ignite year? Yes, Microsoft Ignite will for me be a year long experience. The sheer amount of content is actually to much to digest for just one week. If this is your first larger Microsoft Conference, be prepared to have your brain cooked.

I wrote a blog post about my TechEd year, almost a year ago and Ignite will be no different. If you haven’t checked out the MyIgnite tool do it today.

In a previous post i covered the Session catalog (Microsoft Ignite- Content Catalog Deep Dive), and some features has been added since then. Check out the Countdown to Microsoft Ignite video and get up to date. Countdown to Ignite- The One About Schedule Builder on MyIgnite

Build your Schedule

Two of my good friends Scott Ladewig and Michael bender has put down some awesome tips for building your Schedule make sure you check them out.

Schedule building tips from speaker and president of The Krewe, Michael Bender

Tips for building your Ignite schedule, from IT Pro and conference veteran Scott Ladewig

I build my schedule in a similar way as both Mike and Scott. I work on the schedule builder weekly before the conference starts to try to find the ones that I really want to attend, and those I might skip and catch online. This makes my schedule quite full with a lot of conflicts.

I also try to find sessions on topics that isn’t something I do on a day to day basis. It could be a completely new technical area or perhaps a topic I know something about but want to deepen. I use the Levels filter to filer out those those Level 100 or 200 sessions on the topic of interest.

To get a description of the levels check out my previous blog post Microsoft Ignite- Content Catalog Deep Dive

I don’t know yet if we get a pocket conference guide and the pen with a highlight marker. (Like we got at TechEd)

But if we do this will be my best friend during the week
I use the marker to highlight the first days sessions from the ones I have selected in the schedule builder and circle the ones that i really want to attend on site. That leaves me with alternative sessions if the session fills up so I don’t make it or if the session isn’t what i expected it to be.
At the end of each day I plan the next day by repeating the procedure.

A good thing is also to make plans for a session free slot each day to chill your brain a little. 🙂 I usually plan those slots so that I can call home and talk to the wife and kids.

When it comes to Outlook ICS files i personally don’t use them.

Once the conference is over I use my schedule to find the sessions I’ve attended and those i missed.

See you in Chicago 🙂

Leave a Reply

