Windows 10 as primary OS here we go.

Today i will convert my primary PC to Windows 10. I have been playing around with it since the Preview and been thinking of making the shift for some time now.

I will use the Disk2vhd utility to create a VM of my old install so that I can get access to the old OS if i need to.

Disk2vhd is really easy to use, download the software, unpack and execute the disk2vhd.exe file.

image

Select the drives you need. Default format is Vhdx. If you want to upload it to Azure un-check the box to create a vhd. Since I will run this on a VM on my new Windows 10 install I keep the defaults.

image

Click Create

Disk2vhd takes a snapshot of the disk and starts to build the vhdx.

Leave a Reply

